busy busy

A lot of people ask me how I have time for X after I tell them that I am the father of 4 month old twins. I usually shrug, but my answer should be “..because I don’t do Y”

You can have all the time in the world to do the things you want if you aren’t doing something else.

A lot of my chores I have to fit in to my daily routine wherever I can, and it usually involves a fair amount of negotiation.

For example, today I had a Dr’s appt at 1:30 so I wanted to get some things done before hand like taking out the trash, mowing the lawn, making breakfast, sorting some laundry, doing some laundry, taking a shower etc…

At some point we decided to try and fit in a run to the grocery store as well which meant leaving around noon instead.

So.. right around 10:43 I asked how long I could mow the backyard for. My wife asked for the current time and gave me a fifteen minute window after telling me that she would need to get ready as well, and both babies would need to be fed. I agreed and took the four year old down with me, and made him a sandwich and a couple snacks. I then prepped the backyard and mowed just enough of the lawn to give the dog a good amount of room to maneuver within when doing his business later on that night.

So, I guess what I am saying is that you have to accept the partial completion of some tasks at times. The really important goal is trying to remember which baby fed last when. If you can get that down then you should be good to go.

Leave a comment

Filed under personal

Leave a Reply

