Amazon’s cloud player *review*

I purchased a cheap album (Trouty Mouth) from Amazon the other day to increase the size of my cloud storage to 20 GB. I thien went home and downloaded the uploader from Amazon. It searches your harddrive for music and then offers to upload it all.

Even after the upgrade there still isn’t enough room for *all* my music. So I had to make some choices.

I started picking specific artists to upload by checking them in the program.

2 problems. I realized my metadata was spotty so I was seeing several versions of band names. and 2. This was taking forever. SO I stopped somewhere around the M’s and hit upload.

Then it told me that it would take 16 hours to upload around 6GB.

This seems like a lot of time, but ooh well. I just went to bed.

The next day on the way to work I tried to play some songs on my android phone.

Amazon Cloud Player

After a disclaimer this started working immediately.

Right off the bat I noticed a few things that I miss from using other programs like Pandora and last.fm

1. The ability to rate songs
2. The ability to share songs with friends

These two items make up the social aspects of other players that I have grown accustomed to.

So, it is good for listening to music that you already have, but it does not encourage discovering new music.

Which makes sense on one hand but not the other.

How does Amazon get you to buy new songs, if it isn’t telling you what to buy?

Halfway to work the player stopped working because I was out of the 3G network. I’ll have to try it a few times to see how often this happens and how annoying it is.

I must say that this is better than any other option I currently have for creating playlists of music that I already own.

Amazon’s Cloud gives me the option to tinker with a playlist from home or at another desktop computer.
making a new playlist

*there is no option to add songs to playlists from inside the android player

**CORRECTION**
After making a playlist at work, and then getting ready to go home for the day I started the player again on my phone. To my delight I discovered that you can add songs to a playlist. When you are in the playlist their is a simple EDIT button. This will take you to a new screen with an ADD button from which you can browse for new music to add.

add to playlist

It would be nice if there was also a way to add the song you are currently listening to but there isn’t

2 Comments

Filed under personal

2 responses to “Amazon’s cloud player *review*

  1. Thanks for the insightful review. I wonder whether Amazon will be open, if so – also timely, in upgrading the player, especially for the social media functionalities as described missing in this product release.

Leave a Reply

