Resolutions

This is a retrospective post for the first couple months of 2011

I made no Resolution on New Year’s Eve. Why bother? I know what I want to achieve and I know how likely I am to make changes.

That being said, I did join a Flickr Group “Daily Images 2011” and have been faithfully adding images of myself each day. At first I wasn’t sure who else was participating besides Kathryn Greenhill (group moderator and friend) but over the course of the month of January the membership surged and currently contains 103 members. Not only do I post a picture each day, but I also look at the images of the other members. Many (many) of whom I do not know personally.

This activity has given me an appreciation for doing something consistently over the course of time. Which leads me to what I want to talk about concerning this blog.
Musing

I have been blogging for probably for 6 years now on different platforms and with different degrees of regularity. But today I actually sat down with my latest blog that is about a year old now.

I extracted statistics from wordpress and tried to come up with metrics that could tell me when people were most interested in what I was writing.

I put everything in Excel and ran the numbers. It appears that posts on Wed/Thurs between 4-8PM on the topic of libraries produces the most interest as measured by wordpress statistics. There are some outliers, but for the most part this is true.

I had a large gap of time in which I did not post November 3rd 2010 to January 6 2011. This is where Daily Images comes in. I think if I set a regular time for myself to publish a post I will successfully increase the likelihood that I will accomplish my goal. To that end I have created a reminder in Google Calendar for Wednesday at 10AM. At that time I will receive an SMS telling me simply to start thinking about what kind of post I will want to write.

I think this is a good step. I’m looking forward to the challenge to be more consistent.

Looking up

3 Comments

Filed under personal

3 responses to “Resolutions

  1. Glad to have you in the Flickr group, Jason! I think we have been following each other online for some time, but feel like I am getting to know you a lot better. Interesting the effect, isn’t it? I love seeing people from all around the world who are participating.

    Cheers,
    Connie

    • Thanks Connie! I have been having a lot of fun doing it, and definitely enjoy getting to know everyone though their posts. I think I remember us connecting over the topic of bananas/fruit flies 🙂

  2. Pingback: thinking ahead (the task(s) at hand) « Boring and Mundane

Leave a Reply

